Hotel Reviews

"Perfect"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 February, 2019 on tripadvisor

On arrival check in was promt and our room had been upgraded. We had booked a citypad which we knew would be small. But as we were at a gig we didn't mind as we just needed a bed. So as you can imagine when we got a bigger room we were delighted. The bed was comfortable, furniture nice and bathroom clean. The heating was already on, which was great as it was cold outside. The location is spot on, perfect if you're visiting the motorpoint arena. The local car park is a couple minute walk as a and validating your ticket saves you £5 off for 24 hours. The curious tavern attached to the hotel is a little gem! The atmosphere was lovely and we will definitely be returning. The staff were smiley and friendly what more can you want.

- z0bie, Coventry, United Kingdom, Travelled as a couple

"Quirky hotel, Great location"

4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 February, 2019 on tripadvisor

This hotel is in a great location in the city centre. Lots of shops, places to eat and very quirky bars.
The staff at the reception were very friendly & helpful. The room was nice and clean and of course there was a Robin Hood picture on the wall. The windows were double glazed and there were earplugs next to the bed so we were worried about noise - there was no problem. The wardrobe was full of fans and heaters - not sure why? There was a kettle in the wardrobe with tea, coffee & biscuits.
We went in the hotel bar. It’s an interesting place and worth a visit.
The breakfast was self service and a good choice available.
We would definitely stay here again.

- jo-flo19, London, United Kingdom

"Nice hotel in central Nottingham"

4 of 5 stars Reviewed 13 January, 2019 on tripadvisor

Great location near the Lace Market tram stop, friendly staff and compact but comfortable and clean rooms.
Breakfast was good quality and the pub downstairs was popular but not too noisy.
The small gym is a bonus.

- AndyCSinga, Cambridge, United Kingdom, Travelled on business

"Excellent Service"

4 of 5 stars Reviewed 08 January, 2019 on tripadvisor

Visited here to attend an event at Motorpoint Arena and found the place to be excellent. Staff were attentive and helpful and room was a decent size, clean and comfortable room. Good location in centre near to some good pubs and restaurants and well placed for the arena. Did not have breakfast so cannot comment.

- JCT1962, Newcastle, United Kingdom, Travelled as a couple

"Lovely hotel"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 06 January, 2019 on tripadvisor

We stayed here on Christmas Day as a last minute decision. We received an email explaining the bar won’t be open due to it being Christmas Day however when we got there at about 9pm we were advised the bar was open till 10pm - which I was very happy about! :-)

Parking was a 2 min walk and they stamp your ticket for you.

The hotel itself was lovely! Quirky and we passed a little gym which looked well equipped.

Our room was amazing. The decor was quirky and I loved it! Spacious room, comfy bed, lovely shower. I enjoyed my Prosecco from the bar whilst watching Christmas Day tv.

Really pleasant stay, very happy we booked!

- chloem133, Lincoln, United Kingdom, Travelled as a couple

"Brilliant quirky hotel"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 06 January, 2019 on tripadvisor

Stayed here on my birthday New Year’s Day and I also had just got engaged upon arrival they had already upgraded our room which was a bonus . It was a fast check in with very friendly staff. The hotel is quirky and quaint and perfect for a night or twos stay as it’s bang in the middle of the city centre. The rooms are cosy and have a big flat screen tv with tea and coffee making facilities. They also offer discount on parking when you leave make sure you get your ticket stamped. Would highly recommend this hotel and will be staying again soon.

- Isabel L, Birmingham, Travelled as a couple

"One night stay"

4 of 5 stars Reviewed 05 January, 2019 on tripadvisor

Took a coach party to the theatre and we stayed overnight on a half hoard basis.

The staff were all great and a credit to the hotel, nothing was too much trouble and they were all helpful and friendly.

The meals were great, all hot and served in the Brasserie restaurant.

The rooms varied in size And quirky decor, we had a twin which was big enough with tea and coffee facilities, iron, tv etc.

The beds were really comfy, had an excellent night sleep.

The Hotel is attached to a pub and plenty of high street shops under 5 mins walk. There’s a Sainsbury’s just across this street which is handy.

Would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

- Footstepstours, Northampton, UK

"Excellent Stay & Clean and Quirky Rooms & Friendly and Helpful Staff"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 02 January, 2019 on tripadvisor

Hubby and I stayed here for one night on a Friday as we were attending a local concert. We have stayed many times before here and love everything about the hotel from the location to the rooms. We arrived for check in a little bit later then we wanted too, but this was due to roadworks in Nottingham where we could not take our usual route to park in Lace Market car park.

On arrival check in was quick and done by a very friendly receptionist. However, as we have Accor Silver Status the receptionist forgot to put the free welcome drinks cards in our card wallet. This was not a problem and these cards were soon issued when we later went to tell her.

On arrival in our room we found it to be the usual Mercure standard that we always get here. The bed was large, comfy mattress and great fluffy pillows and a good nights sleep was had. The room was clean to a very high standard (well done to the housekeeping team). The bathroom was of a large size with bath and shower in, it was clean and very modern. Ample selection of toiletries provided and the towels pleased to say the bath towels of a good size and lovely and fluffy. As it was a cold day in November hubby tried to put the heating on but could not get it working. The problem was soon sorted when we rang reception to tell them. Within 10 minutes a lady brought a fan heater upstairs for us to use which heated the room up in no time. She also allocated us free breakfast in the morning as a way to say sorry for this heating problem.

Shortly after we had settled in our room we went to the bar to enjoy a delightful glass of wine where our free welcome drinks voucher was used. We were served by a delightful lady called Chantelle who was smartly dressed, friendly and jolly and courteous. As we wanted to eat in the hotel before departing for the concert which we had to do at 7pm, Chantelle suggested that we chose our meals now. Our meal choice would then be passed on to the chef when he came on duty at 6pm and these would be served shortly after. It was an excellent suggestion and timings were perfect for us to leave at 7pm for the concert. The food that we had was very good, good sized portions, very tasty and well presented, our compliments to the chef. We also enjoyed a lovely bottle of white wine with our meal which was very reasonably priced.

Breakfast was as always superb. A great selection of pastries, cheese and meats, cereals and off course a full English. My poach egg that I ordered was cooked to perfection and thoroughly enjoyed! Ample tea and coffee were provided and a great selection of fruit juice. Matt and Joanne who were serving in the dining room were smartly dressed, chatty and friendly and made sure that everything was as we needed.

Check out was quick and easy and my invoice was emailed to me later that day.

Hubby and I returned the following Friday night for another stay and another concert and this will be another review that I will leave another time!

We would highly recommend a stay here, the hotel is ideally situated close to the town centre with plenty of restaurants, bars and shops and the Lace Market car park is only a short walk away.

- Lunn2013, Snaith

"Twixmas stay 2018"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 01 January, 2019 on tripadvisor

Stayed in a privilege room on the first floor. Although the room overlooked the street there was hardly any noise from outside. Easy quick check in. All staff were friendly and helpful. Did not eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on the food. Having said that the buffet breakfast was very good with a good selection of both hot and cold food. Only slight downside was the lack of a car park but fully aware of this fact when booking. However Lace Market car park is a very short walk away. Hotel is ideal for visiting all local attractions. Thank you George Hotel.

- 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 01 January, 2018 on tripadvisor

"Lovely hotel situated in the heart of the centre."

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 30 December, 2018 on tripadvisor

Booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary. Situated in the heart of Nottingham. Very nice quirky hotel. Nicely decorated room. The bed was so comfy. Friendly staff and great bar downstairs. Amazing value.

- carys1975, Gateshead, United Kingdom, Travelled as a couple

"Great quirky hotel"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 27 December, 2018 on tripadvisor

Great hotel very quirky and superb location. Excellent pub next door with access through the hotel reception. Hotel staff very friendly especially Sabrin who sorted out everything for our stay. Would recommend this hotel if staying centrally in Nottingham.

- Steve W, Peterborough, United Kingdom, Travelled with family

"Excellent Hotel :) Very impressed Great price. Highly recommend!"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 25 December, 2018 on tripadvisor

We have stayed at the Mecure twice now,as a little treat even though we live close by.
Stayed last night and it was so lovely.
Its stunning inside I love everything about it.
We stayed in the Notts County room. It was a huge room, looked amazing with a big comfy bed & had everything we needed. The room was very clean (& I used to be a housekeeping supervisor at a hotel many years ago)

ALL of the staff (on both occasions) went out of their way to be helpful & friendly which really added to our overall stay. Reception gave a warm welcome and restarant did everything possible to look after us.
The breakfast is the BEST I have ever had in any hotel ever!!!
Worth a visit just for that!
Great variety of fresh food. Fabulous veggie breakfast :) Lovely pastries. Yummy yogurts- loved it all can't wait to stay again soon!
Massive Thankyou Xxx

- Vikki P, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom

"Excellent service and accommodation"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 20 December, 2018 on tripadvisor

The hotel is centrally located and the rooms very were spacious and well equipped. There were many Christmassy events going on nearby which were seconds form the hotel. As well as this, the staff were very friendly and professional. Would definitely stay here again and certainly recommend it as a cosy boutique hotel.

- Chloedav1s, Travelled with family

"Very enjoyable and pleasant stay at the hotel"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 18 December, 2018 on tripadvisor

Reservation was easy and a good price but paid up front several months ahead. The bedroom was very pleasant, quiet and with a comfortable bed. The hotel is ideally located for the Arena, shops and only a 10/15 minutes walk to the station. Breakfast was very good - buffet style but empty bowls replaced quickly. Check out very efficient.

- Rbslimjim, Travelled as a couple

"2 Day stay for Concert"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 16 December, 2018 on tripadvisor

Excellent staff, very good full English breakfast (both mornings), everyone very helpful, lift worked well and nice tidy room, very good location for concert venues, plenty of bars within easy reach, and easily accessible from the Station using the tram.

- CastleResident, Bishops Castle, Travelled solo