Reviews

Best post lockdown surprise

5 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 10 Aug 2020

Me and my partner were dying to get out of the house after being in lockdown since March. Our relationship needed a night out 😂

At first we were going to go home but after a few drinks we decided to book a hotel room. My girlfriend was a bit worried at first but as soon as we went inside all her doubts disappeared! There’s sanitisers and screens at reception and you even have sanitised pens so you feel more comfortable. The receptionist answered all of our questions and even recommended the best tapas restaurant in town! She was amazing.

The room was spotless and we had an amazing night sleep so thank you also to the housekeepers.

At check out you have a box where you can just drop your keys so it’s limited contact.

Thank you so much Mercure! We will come back next time we need a break 😊

by Tanuki

Treated Extreamly Well!!

5of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 03 Aug 2020

We ran an event in this hotel and my staff and I stayed for 2 nights. From the moment we arrived the hotel staff were more than accommodating, they had everything set up as instructed and my team and I were very impressed with the venue, the set up and the professionalism of the Mercure staff. Sabrin sorted everything out for us the way he needed it and Chris the Hotel Manager very kindly allowed us to use an additional room we had not booked to fill out the information forms for our guests, this really made a big difference to the event. Such hospitality is not something we are used to when we were working with the nightclub industry.

Despite everything regarding the current Covid circumstances the event ran very smoothly and more importantly safe. We have had nothing but positive feedback from our guests. My team including myself were very surprised how easy that event was to run as it ran without fault.

I want to take this opportunity to thank the Mercure for being so accommodating to our needs and we would have no problem running another event there again.

by Myles L

Excellent stay

5 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 29 Jul 2020

Finally got away for a weekend after lockdown ended. All staff has been amazing, Chris and Joana made sure all our requests were met. We booked a standard room, good choice for the size. Room was immaculate. We received our goodie bags of tea and coffee at reception at check in. Takeaway breakfast is available which gets delivered to the room, yoghurt, pastries, a fruit and some orange juice. Plenty of social distancing measures implemented, sanitizing station is also available. Well done guys:)

by Thedealbreaker

Pleasant weekend stay

4 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 13 Jul 2020

We stayed at the hotel for two nights last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Pre visit questions were answered quickly and allayed any fears we may have had. We parked in nearby Stoney Street NCP car park and the hotel provides a substantial price reduction. Our rooms were very clean , well appointed with all services we need. Breakfasts were delivered to our room each morning and there were plenty of tea,coffee and milk sachets available. There were plenty of available restaurants and coffee shops available as those in the hotel are not presently open.

by SimonTHull

Excellent stay, fantastic staff

5 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 06 Jul 2020

Greeted with a smile and a good chat with the reception staff who were very nice and professional. Plenty of social distancing measures in place and no shortage of hand sanitiser. The room was spotless and every inquiry I had was promptly answered.
Will come again

by Mat

Comfy, clean and convenient

5 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 24 Feb 2020

I've stayed here multiple times over the past year it is my go to hotel. Staff are polite and helpful. Rooms are clean and sometimes you get upgraded for free. There was one slightly disappointing room which I emailed a snag list to the hotel manager and they replied promptly and professionally. If you're not satisfied please do say, they will accommodate you and do what they can to assist.

by Tomlinson A

Splendid Stays, Lovely Rooms, Friendly Staff, Delicious Food & Superb Breakfast.

5 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 18 Feb 2020

The hubby and I are Accor members and have stayed at this hotel many times over the years. All of our stays have been superb and we have always been made to feel welcome here. Our stay on the 26th of October was superb, the only thing to spoil it was the downpour of rain as we stepped off the train! On arrival at the Mercure as we had already checked in online our room wallet card was all ready. The receptionist on seeing us very wet and my glasses steaming up very kindly provided a cloth to clean them with which was a very thoughtful gesture.

by Lunn2013, Snaith

Food

5 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 16 Feb 2020

Stayed for one night and ate at 1822 Brassiere in the hotel. Menu looked basic and couldn’t find any reviews. We were tired and everywhere was very busy so ate here anyway. Really glad we did, it was quiet and relaxed and the food was excellent and great value for money. I had tapas starter for a main and husband had homemade burger. Both meals were fab and well worth the money - £18 for both. The service was great too!

by tina t, Huddersfield, United Kingdom

Clean, central, value for money

4 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 11 Feb 2020

We stayed in December 2019 for winter wonderland & this hotel was literally up the road so there location was great. Car park round the corner & you get a discount at reception. We were upgraded to a suite & it was really nice, comfy main bed (the camp bed not so comfy but this is normally the case). We didn’t eat there or use any of the facilities but there was an Irish bar downstairs & we noticed a gym. The room was nice & quiet which was a surprise as I’m usually awoken in hotel by other guests. I would stay here again & I would recommend

by Kay D, Wickersley, United Kingdom

Great value and position

5 of 5 stars Review on TripAdvisor 11 Feb 2020

Our daughters bought us a night away with a Smartbox voucher which we used for this stay.
We got a Standard King room, 505, on the top floor at the back of the building which was really quiet.
Lots of comments on general noise and the air con so these are worth covering. In terms of external noise, being at the rear of the building and on the top floor meant a very quiet stay.
It's an old building and quirky. One thing it doesn't allow is a full central heating system so rooms are heated via wall mounted air con units. They hum and whir when cutting in and out. If you're a light sleeper like me but OK with using foam earplugs (supplied) then you'll be fine.
My wife is a solid sleeper and slept really well in the enormous bed (2 large singles joined together)
The room was stylish and quirky with nice quality bedding and pillows. The bathroom was small but clean and fit for purpose. Windows are single glazed, although our room remained warm and had thick black out curtains. I can imagine rooms on lower doors at the front could be susceptible to noise especially at weekends.
We stayed room only as didn't need a big breakfast. There are, though, lots of places within a few minutes for a coffee and a bite to eat.
The hotel is beautifully placed in Lace Market surrounded by great places to eat and drink. You'll never be short of a good cocktail.
There is no parking at the hotel but they have a deal with the 2 nearest multi stories for a good 24hr rate..
Reception were efficient and pleasant.
Had a lovely stay. Terrific value and great location
Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

by Markjordan, Ketton, United Kingdom